

Biotechnet Conference Report:

SCRM Annual Meeting 2024









Quick Facts



22 November 2024, Haus der Universität, Bern



79 Participants: Academic & clinical (69), industrial (10)



6 Presentations & 4 Short Presentations



Sponsored by: Biotechnet Switzerland, University of Bern, CSL Behring, CELLnTEC, ACROBiosystems, Proteintech, STEMCELL Technologies, Nikon, Sino Biological, Miltenyi Biotec, Zeiss



Organized by: Stem Cell Research and Regenerative Medicine Platform, University of Bern and Inselspital, University Hospital Bern

Takeaway



The SCRM Annual Meeting 2024 offered valuable insights into extracellular vesicle research and the regulatory framework, showcasing the University of Bern's initiative and ongoing efforts in the field.



Next meeting: November 2025

Additional Information



https://www.scrm.unibe.ch/events/annual_meetings/annual_meeting_2024/index_eng.html

Session Highlights

Introduction Center for Extracellular Vesicles Research (EVR)

Dr. Cristina Zivko, PhD

Scientific Manager Center for Extracellular Vesicles Research (EVR), University of Bern

From LUNGs to LOOs: Extracellular Vesicles as Multi-Organ Mediators in Respiratory and Urinary Health Sensor based symptoms recognition in neurodegeneration

Dr. Ali Hashemi Gheinani

Department for BioMedical Research, University of Bern

Navigating the Complexity of Biomolecular Corona and Extracellular Vesicles **Prof. Dr. Annalisa Radeghieri**

Molecular and Translational Medicine, University of Brescia, Italy

Loading of nucleic acids into isolated extracellular vesicles

Prof. Dr. Jean-Christophe Leroux

Pharmaceutical Sciences, ETH Zurich

The ATMP Regulatory Framework in Switzerland: How to deal with Exosomes

PD Dr. Andreas Marti

ATMP Division, Swissmedic

Coordinated epithelial and fibro-blast programming by a novel CRIPTO/extracellular vesicle-mediated crosstalk mechanisms

Prof. Dr. Benjamin T. Spike

Oncological Sciences, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT, USA

Short Presentations by the SCRM Best Thesis Award 2023-2024 nominees.

Dr. Andreas Croft

Dr. Elisa Sousa Rodriguez

Dr. Laura Jahnke

Dr. Vera Tscherrig

The prize was awarded to Dr. Vera Tscherrig for her thesis *The therapeutic* potential of microRNAs from small extracellular vesicles derived from Wharton's jelly mesenchymal stromal cells in premature white matter injury